Award Programs

Alert Center

  1. There are no alerts at this time.

MML Annual Award Programs


Lifetime Achievement Awards

Recognizing Excellence

MML’s Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an elected or appointed city/town official who has a strong record of service to the Maryland Municipal League through:

  • participation on MML committees
  • participation on the MML Board of Directors
  • active involvement with the local League chapter
  • has demonstrated outstanding service to Maryland municipal government

Nominees can be current or former municipal officials

Lifetime Achievement Award Information (PDF)

Deadline. All entries must be submitted electronically to by 12 noon on March 1, 2021.


Municipal Achievement Awards

The 2021 MML Achievement Awards theme is Working Together to Get Things Done: Collaborative Programs and Policies and will honor cities and towns that have successfully implemented programs and policies using collaborative approaches to address community challenges.

Entries must be for programs that have been successfully operating for at least one year during the time period March 1, 2018 to March 1, 2021. A municipality may submit only one entry. 

The three population categories for this award program are:
• Up to 3,000 population
• 3,000 to 10,000 population
•    Over 10,000 population

Winners will be announced in the May/June issue of Municipal Maryland. Awards will be presented at the summer conference in Ocean City. A short article on each award-winning program will appear in the May/June issue of Municipal Maryland.

Achievement Award Entry Information (PDF)

Deadline. All entries must be submitted electronically to by 12 noon on March 1, 2021.


Municipal Employee of the Year 

The City and Town Administrators Department of the Maryland Municipal League and the Maryland City/County Management Association are pleased to announce that it is accepting nominations for the annual Roland B. Sweitzer Municipal Employee of the Year Award.

Nominations for this prestigious award are open to all MML member municipalities. In order to be considered for the award, the nominee must be a current or former municipal employee. Employees who have been previously nominated, but not selected, may be re-nominated. Town managers and administrators are not eligible. Only one nomination per municipality may be submitted.

Submit a completed Nomination Form by the close of business on March 5, 2021. Full details.

The Award will be presented virtually during the MML summer conference held in Ocean City, MD, during the Monday General Session.. 

Deadline: March 5, 2021 


Contact MML if there are any further questions regarding any of MML's awards and programs.