2020 Legislator Awards

Municipal Super Stars - The following members of the Maryland General Assembly have earned the MML “Municipal Super Star” award for going “above and beyond” on behalf of municipal government during the 2020 General Assembly legislative session. Some of these legislators acted as lead sponsors of MML’s priority legislation to restore municipal Highway User Revenues. Beyond sponsoring legislation, these individuals worked closely with MML to monitor numerous bills, worked to protect Maryland’s municipalities from harmful legislation, and remained in close contact with MML members and staff throughout the General Assembly session.


Senator Mary Beth Carozza – District 38

Senator Guy Guzzone – District 13

Senator Cheryl Kagan – District 17

Senator Nancy J. King – District 39

*Senator Cory V. McCray – District 45

*Senator Andrew A. Serafini – District 2


*Delegate Brooke Lierman – District 46

*Delegate Carl Anderton, Jr. – District 38B

*Lead sponsor of MML’s priority legislation to restore municipal Highway User Revenues and remove the FY 2024 sunset on current funding levels.

Friend of Municipal Government - The following members of the Maryland General Assembly have earned the “Friend of Municipal Government” award to recognize their strong support of municipal government during the 2020 legislative session.  These individuals advocated publicly on behalf of Maryland’s municipalities in committee hearings, voting sessions and/or during General Assembly floor sessions.  They also regularly reached out to MML staff when legislation with municipal impact was before them to ensure that municipal interests were protected.


Malcolm Augustine – District 47

Jack Bailey – District 29

Pamela G. Beidle – District 32

Adelaide Eckardt – District 37

Sarah K. Elfreth – District 30

Jason C. Gallion – District 35

Stephen S. Hershey, Jr. – District 36

William C. “Bill” Ferguson – District 46

Dolores Kelley – District 10

Jeff Waldstreicher – District 18


Christopher Adams – District 37B

Kumar P. Barve – District 17

Regina T. Boyce – District 43

Lorig Charkoudian – District 20

Jerry Clark – District 29

David Fraser-Hildago – District 15

Jim W. Gilchrist – District 17

Anne Healey – District 22

Kevin B. Hornberger – District 35

Jay A. Jacobs – District 36

Anne R. Kaiser – District 14

Mary A. Lehman – District 21

Eric G. Luedtke – District 14

Johnny Mautz – District 37

Charles J. Otto – District 38A

Julie Palakovich Carr – District 17

Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk – District 21

Shane E. Pendergrass – District 13

Jared Solomon – District 18

Melissa Wells – District 40

William J. Wivell – District 2