Click to Home
Follow us on Facebook

Go To Search
Essay Contest Winners & Semi-finalists
2017 Winners & Semi-Finalists

Winner's Response Form
Please note that the response form is for District Winners Only. District winners are listed below in BOLD

Congratulations to the winners, semi-finalists and their teachers of the 2017 Mayor's Essay Contest! These essays  rose above over 2,100 entries representing Maryland's best essays on each students' vision to build a community center that would be inclusive of the many groups in their municipality. Names in bold are the District Winner.

  • District 1 - Somerset, Worcester, Wicomico, and Dorchester Counties
    • Tiffany Colon, Northwestern Elementary  (Ms. Shupe)
    • Jackson Fernley, Worcester Preparatory   (Ms. Shimko)
    • Mikayla Smith, Pittsville Elementary        (Ms. Jones)
    • Josie Palmer, Buckingham Elementary     (Ms. Smith)
    • Evelyn Reeder, Northwestern Elementary (Ms. Shupe)
  • District 2 - Caroline, Queen Anne’s, Kent and Talbot Counties
    • Kate Cannon, Millington Elementary        (Ms. Smith)
    • Robert Crenshaw, Ridgely Elementary     (Ms. Dodd)
    • Riley Ensor, Church Hill Elementary         (Mr. Taylor)
    • Zuzu Kusmider, Church Hill Elementary    (Mr. Taylor)
    • Logan Sykes, Millington Elementary        (Ms. Smith)
  • District 3 - Baltimore City
    • Bre'Onna Clowney, Commodore John Rodgers (Ms. Jacobson)
    • Iris Hamilton, Hamilton Elementary         (Ms. Jackson)
    • Essence Jones, Commodore John Rodgers (Ms. Jacobson)
    • Maria Telfer, Hamilton Elementary           (Ms. Jackson)
    • Tyonna Williams, Calvin Rodwell Elementary  (Ms. Faison)
  • District 4 - Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary’s Counties
    • Brady Julian, Mayo Elementary (Ms. Chaney)
    • Mason Klessinger, Mayo Elementary        (Ms. Chaney)
    • Zachary Koterwas, Leonardtown Elementary (Ms. Sommeling)
    • Carleigh Watson, St. Mary's Bryantown    (Ms. Slay)
    • Jasmine Zerby, St. Mary's Bryantown      (Ms. Slay)
  • District 5 - Montgomery and Howard Counties
    • Lorenzo Bunag, St. Martin's School         (Ms. Joseph)
    • Harshita Chinta, Lucy V. Barnsley Elementary  (Ms. Ridges)
    • Caroline Elizabeth Kaye, Beall Elementary (Ms. Newcomb)
    • Samhitha Maramreddy, Lakewood Elementary (Ms. Johnson)
    • Sammy Needle, College Gardens Elementary (Ms. Hernandez)
  • District 6 - Frederick County
    • Rama Bah, Brunswick Elementary           (Ms. Baker)
    • Jacob Genos, Brunswick Elementary       (Ms. Baker)
    • Magdalena Kloz, Brunswick Elementary   (Ms. Baker)
    • Sharon Martin, Middletown Elementary   (Ms. Stalnaker)
    • Jenncyn Reed, Yellow Springs Elementary   (Ms. Small)
  • District 7 - Allegany and Garrett Counties
    • Shianne Calhoun, Crellin School             (Ms. Stephens)
    • Marlia Morris, John Humbird Elementary  (Ms. Hager)
    • Walker Savage, Friendsville Elementary   (Ms. Frantz)
    • Keirsten Sisler, Friendsville Elementary    (Ms. Frantz)
    • Isabella Yoder, Accident Elementary,       (Ms. Otto)
  • District 8 - Washington County
    • Alexandra Garcia, Pangborn Elementary  (Ms. Wollard)
    • Ella Hajel, Paramount Elementary           (Ms. Lord)
    • Maddie Knable, Hancock Elementary       (Ms. Shoemaker)
    • Leila Elizabeth Rodriguez, Williamsport Elementary  (Ms. Hood)
    • Angelina Scott, Rockland Woods Elementary (Ms. Dennis)
  • District 9 - Prince George’s County
    • Annabel Chambaz, Paint Branch Elementary (Mr. Case)
    • Mikalah Gibson, Mt. Rainier Elementary   (Mr. Sandy)
    • Benjamin Holmes, Doswell E. Brooks Elementary  (Mr. Wills)
    • Jenis Hudson, Holy Redeemer                 (Ms. Harrington)
    • Ibrahim Mokhtarzada, Friends Community School (Ms. Malik)
  • District 10 - Cecil and Harford Counties
    • Will Benner, Tome School (Ms. Little)
    • Yaseen Bhatti, Tome School (Ms. Miller)
    • Emma Bowman, Perryville Elementary    (Ms. Sickels)
    • Kira Pierce, Perryville Elementary           (Ms. Butt)
    • Noam Salins, Tome School (Ms. Miller)
  • District 11 - Baltimore and Carroll Counties
    • Zara Allen, Riderwoood Elementary          (Ms. Kahl)
    • Braeden Audlin, Freedom Elementary       (Ms. Will)
    • Jasmine Bada, Freedom Elementary        (Ms. Olson)
    • Maren Fischer, Mt. Airy Elementary          (Ms. DeColli)
    • Brandon Zahner, Freedom Elementary         (Ms. Olson)