News Flash Home
The original item was published from 4/24/2019 10:07:10 AM to 5/24/2019 12:00:04 AM.

News Flash

MML eBulletin

Posted on: April 23, 2019

[ARCHIVED] Congratulations to the 2019 Mayor’s Essay Contest Winners


On April 9, eighteen volunteer readers gathered to read over 2,700 essays. Every now and then someone would chuckle or share a snippet from the essay, causing a burst of conversation about the insights of Maryland’s fourth graders. Hours later, thousands of essays were culled down to only five per district and were then sent on to Mayoral judges to select the winners. The energy behind MML’s long-running program remains at an all-time high. The contest is an easy and fun lesson in civics and a great way for officials to get a feel for how children view the issues in their community.

This year’s essay contestants were asked to describe how together, with members of their community, they would solve an issue. Whether it was litter, civility or crime our state’s fourth graders had opinions. Some witty, others heartening.

Congratulations to the winners, their teachers, and the municipalities they represent!

D1 – Dylan Rosas, Pinehurst Elementary (Town of Chestertown)
D2 – Michael Phillips, Henry Highland Garnet Elementary (City of Salisbury)
D3 – Cortney Singleton, Hillcrest Elementary (Baltimore)
D4 – Laila White, Beach Elementary (Town of Chesapeake Beach)
D5 – Jaden Walcoff, Ritchie Park Elementary (City of Rockville)
D6 – Keira Bittner, Yellow Springs Elementary (City of Frederick)
D7 – Paizley Gonzales, Friendsville Elementary (Town of Friendsville)
D8 – Jaliah Morgan, Salem Avenue Elementary (City of Hagerstown)
D9 – Averie Johnson, Magnolia Elementary
D10 – Amiyah Moretz, The Tome School (Town of North East)
D11 – Brady Long, Mount Airy Elementary (Town of Sykesville)

We would like to ensure that at least one official from the town of a winning student is present. Officials from a town with a district winner are invited to help us honor the winners at the essay award ceremony on May 10, 1 p.m. in the Governor’s Reception Room at the Maryland State House in Annapolis.  Due to space restrictions, please RSVP to Sharon Easton at by April 30, if you plan to attend.

For a complete list of winners and semi-finalists, please visit  Municipalities have received a notification of their winners and a packet of possible activities they can implement so they can honor the students the way they see fit.

Thank you, The Maryland’s Mayors Association and Chesapeake Employers Insurance Company for continuing to foster goodwill in our community through your sponsorship.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in MML eBulletin


Civil Unrest Tabletop Exercise

Posted on: March 7, 2023

It Pays To Be A First-Timer

Posted on: March 7, 2023

MML Finds Your Answers. Just Ask.

Posted on: March 1, 2023
MMLLogo.higher res.jpg

Meetings - MML March 2023

Posted on: February 28, 2023
MMLLogo.higher res.jpg

MML’s Hitting the Road

Posted on: February 28, 2023

State Cyber Committee Needs Your Help

Posted on: February 28, 2023
money franklinmask144707160_xl

Treasury Reopens Contact Centers

Posted on: February 21, 2023
chesapeake bay greenStreets350

Urban Tree Program Grants

Posted on: February 21, 2023
Worldwide TeachIn

Maryland Joins Worldwide Climate Teach-In

Posted on: February 13, 2023

First Call for the Hall

Posted on: January 17, 2023


Posted on: February 1, 2023